Poptropica Exploration Two

After continuing to explore Poptropica over the last few days I have discovered many benefits and exciting aspects of the game. To begin, I was able to find out more about the game through trial and error. I found out that players can go to different areas of the main island, including the pet store and arcade. While in the arcade, I noticed that I was able to walk around and choose different games to play. For example, one was racing through the air on a parachute. While in the arcade, you can “chat” with other players who are also registered. There are provided responses that students can choose from. These include “Want to be friends?”, or “I like your outfit”, and “want to play a game?”. This allows the player to interact with other players. The other aspect of the game that I explored more deeply this week was traveling to different islands in “Poptropica”. One island that was particularly notable was “Kira” which is based off of a new American Girl Doll. This grabs the attention of the player, because it is something that kids at the targetted agre range for this game are very familiar with. When I visited Kira Island I noticed that it was more educational than the rest of the game. I could move my character throughout the island, and when I passed various animals, I could read more about each animal. Overall, this week I was able to learn significantly more about the details of this game, allowing me to see its benefits more clearly.

Leave a comment